Graham

Graham Andrews

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Graham uses fieldwork, petrology, and geochronology to investigate the origins and architectures of volcanic provinces throughout the North American Cordillera

graham.andrews@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
Bob Behling

Bob Behling

PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Seven years of Rock Camp, an offering for teachers in WV (K-12). We have trained over 200 teachers in the details of the Geology of WV. My role is to lead the field experiences and reserach. A cooperative venture with the West Firginia Geological Survey and the WV Department of Education. Initial funding by NSF and now followed by support from the State of West Virginia.

rbehling@wvu.edu

More Information
Kathy Benison

Kathleen Benison

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Kathy uses sedimentary geology, geochemistry, and geomicrobiology to study the deposition and diagenesis of continental evaporites and red beds. Her active research projects include modern acid saline lake systems in Western Australia and Chile, their Permian analog deposits in the U.S. midcontinent, and similar systems on Mars.

kathleen.benison@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
KennethKennyKenny

Kenneth Brown

TEACHING ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Kenny uses fieldwork, elemental and isotopic analyses, geochronology, and high-spatial resolution techniques to place important constraints on 1) the exchange processes operating between the crust and mantle; 2) the physiochemical links between plutonism and volcanism; and 3) applications of mineral-scale isotope and geochronologic methods in the geosciences

 kenneth.brown1@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
Tim Carr

Tim Carr

MARSHALL MILLER PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY; DEPARTMENTAL CHAIR

Tim is a geologist working to develop the energy resources that the people of the world require over the coming century, while protecting the environment. His current study areas concern unconventional resources and CO2 storage and utilization in North America, Europe, Middle East and Asia.

tim.carr@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
Joe Donovan

Joe Donovan

PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Quantitative hydrogeology. Mining hydrogeology. Groundwater-lake interaction. Holocene paleoclimate.

jdonovan@wvu.edu   phone (304)293-9803

More Information
Dengliang Gao

Dengliang Gao

PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Dengliang is interested in 3D seismic visualization and interpretation for hydrocarbon exploration from both conventional and unconventional fractured reservoirs. He is also interested in developing and applying new seismic technologies for more effective subsurface structure, facies, and reservoir characterization. He and his students have been working on 3D seismic projects in the Central Appalachian Basin, Powder River Basin, Big Horn Basin, and Oriente Basin (South America).

dengliang.gao@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
Steven Kite

Steven Kite

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY AND GEOGRAPHY

Quaternary Stratigraphy; Fluvial and Glacial Geomorphology; Geoarcheology; Surficial Geology Mapping; Floods; Landslides; Debris Flows; Colluvium; Stream Restoration, Reclamation Geomorphology, Surficial Geology and Geomorphology of the Appalachians and the Ohio River Basin.

jkite@wvu.edu

More Information
lamsdell

James Lamsdell

ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Paleobiology, Paleontology, Arthropods, Macroevolution, Mass extinction, Macroecology, Paleoecology, Phylogenetics

james.lamsdell@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
Joe Lebold

Joe Lebold

TEACHING ASSISTANT PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Paleoecology, Paleontology, Regional Geology

joe.lebold@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
Shikha Sharma

Shikha Sharma

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY; ASSOCIATE CHAIR FOR GEOLOGY

Shikha’s research is focused on how stable isotopes can be used to understand the development of unconventional and sustainable energy resources, and environmental issues stemming from this development.

shikha.sharma@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
Jaime Toro

Jaime Toro

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Zircon Geochronology of Middle Devonian (Tioga) Ash Beds in the Marcellus Shale, Tectonic Evolution of Chukotka (NE Russia), Intelligent Systems Approach to Reservoir Characterization, Fault-related gas reservoirs in the Appalachian Foreland.

jtoro@wvu.edu

More Information
Dorothy Vesper

Dorothy Vesper

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Dorothy is a low-temperature geochemist with a focus on karst hydrogeology, temporal changes in water quality (diel and storm), high-CO2 waters, metal geochemistry, thermal-mineral springs, coal-mine drainage, and how contaminant move in karst aquifers. Much of her recent research considers the relationship between inorganic carbon and sulfur in natural waters.

dorothy.vesper@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
Timothy Warner

Timothy Warner

PROFESSOR OF GEOGRAPHY AND GEOLOGY

Tim specializes in remote sensing applications and the spatial analysis of images. He utilizes optical and thermal imagery, as well as lidar, to study terrestrial features including biogeographical and geological phenomena.

tim.warner@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
Amy Weislogel

Amy Weislogel

ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Amy conducts research in the areas of sedimentology, stratigraphy and sedimentary petrology to elucidate paleoenvironmental, tectonic and climate processes. These pursuits can aid in energy exploration, carbon sequestration and reconstructing global change and Earth’s history.

amy.weislogel@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
Timothy Wilson

Thomas Wilson

PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Fracture modeling, development of optimal drilling strategies for enhanced oil and gas recovery in unconventional naturally fractured reservoirs and analysis and integration of hydraulic fracture treatment induced microseismicity into characterization of shale gas reservoirs. Research funded through RPSEA/HARC & NETL.

tom.wilson@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
Alan Donaldson

Alan Donaldson

EMERITUS PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

adonaldson@wvu.edu

Thomas Kammer

Thomas Kammer

EMERITUS PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

Add contact information here.

More Information
Helen Lang

Helen Lang

EMERITUS ASSOCIATE PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

helen.lang@mail.wvu.edu

More Information
Henry Rauch

Henry Rauch

EMERITUS PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

hrauch@wvu.edu

John Renton

John Renton

EMERITUS PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

jrenton@wvu.edu

More Information
Robert Shumaker

Robert Shumaker

EMERITUS PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

rcshumaker@mail.wvu.edu

Richard Smosna

Richard Smosna

EMERITUS PROFESSOR OF GEOLOGY

rsmosna@wvu.edu

More Information